2011: My year in review

Ok, so I’m a little late to the game. January is almost done and I’m only just starting to think about my 2011 “list of things I’ve done this past year”.  (I should really think of a better title.)

1. Retired from Barvinok (after 18-ish years I’ve finally hung up my dancing boots)
2. Trip to St. Johns/Newfoundland. One of the best times of my life.
3. Hung out in a bar after hours
4. Free drinks from bartenders after said bar was closed
5. Getting Screeched-in
6. Stayed at a B & B
7. Getting a personal tour of some of Newfoundland’s most wicked education sites (yes, I’m a nerd)
8. Going on an excavation site in Canada’s oldest town
9. Holding rings and pipes and other stuff that’s more than a century old in my freaking hands (no gloves or anything)
10. Seeing Puffins!
11. Being called “Mississauga”
12. Disturbed/Korn concert
13. Little bro gets engaged
14. NYC!
15. NYC bachelorette
16. Wine tour in Niagra
17. 30 Seconds to Mars concert
18. Ottawa for Canada Day
19. Mini trip with all my closest friends
20. 7 rounds of shots and no one went home sick!
21. My first outdoor wedding/non-Ukrainian wedding (that’s you Anne!)
22. And 80 hour work week
23. A 36 hour day
24. Trews concert
25. Deciding to move to Halifax (even though it’s a fair bit away)
26. Actually getting upset that a character gets killed off on a show (that’s right Being Human, I’m looking at you)
27. Beerfest
28. Ukrainian day at Centennial turns into Aussie night at nearby bar
29. Hotels.ca acts like a little bitch and refuses to help a sister out
30. I get my revenge with hotels.ca
31. I’m introduced to Misfits (such a good show)
32. Took my final bow at Carassauga (where Fedir acknowledged each of the retirees)
33. Got slapped (by an asshole obviously)
34. Montreal with the boys
35. Was the tallest person (not just girl but person) at a bar/club
36. Hung out with Parisians in Montreal (who’d have thunk it)
37. Actually watched (and liked) Teen Wolf (yes, I’m at least embarrassed about this)
38. Reached my biking goal (of the summer)
39. Started running again
40. Chatted with a very nice Brazilian dude at FITC (who would have thought I’d actually socialize)
41. Became closer with friends I wasn’t that close with
42. Sneaked into the beer tent at Ukie day
43. Had a police horse push me around (gently)
44. Had a very drunk guy from my old elementary school hit on me
45. Surprised said guy when I said I knew who he was (he obviously didn’t remember me)
46. Got lost in St. Johns
47. Attempted to walk home at 6am and got lost (I guess this should be part of #46…but I feel like they’re 2 different events)
48. Met the guitarist(?) from Hey Rosetta!
49. He made me do math at 5am (really just tell me you age when I ask; don’t give me some sort of a math calculation to do in order to figure it out)
50. Went to the bar that’s featured in Republic of Doyle

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment